Religious Education/Life

Head of Department:  Mr E Walton

Religious Education is a statutory part of the school curriculum in England and Wales and is studied by all students in school at some point in each key stage.  In Years 7 and 8 each child is taught in a mixed ability group and has a one hour lesson of R.E. a week, plus one hour of Life (PSHCE).  In Year 9 students have one hour of RE/Life each week.  

In Years 10 & 11 Religious Education is currently taught for one hour a week as an option subject which leads to accreditation.

All Religious Education follows the guidelines laid out by the Kirklees Agreed Syllabus and involves a study of the principal world faiths.

Year 7

The Year 7 programme involves a modular course which takes an investigative approach to study. Christianity, Hinduism and Buddhism are the main areas of focus. General topics studied include justice and care of the environment.  Life units include staying safe, careers education and puberty.

Year 8

In Year 8 students continue to study an investigative course which focuses this year on Sikhism and Islam as well as Christianity. General areas of study include charities and civil rights.  Life units include internet safety, careers education and dangerous substances.

Year 9

Year 9 RE units include the Holocaust and doing the right thing.  Life units include drugs education and crime and punishment.  

Years 10 & 11

Students who choose Religious Studies as part of their options will follow the AQA GCSE syllabus B up to 2017, syllabus A from 2018 onwards.


Homework, which should take approximately thirty minutes, is set once a term for students in Years 7, 8 & 9 in the form of ELGs.  Year 10 & 11 students work on assignments throughout the year.